27 C
Wednesday, July 17, 2024

ACMC suspends party membership of 3 MPs voted in favor of Second Reading vote of Budget 2022

- Advertisement -

All Ceylon Makkal Congress (ACMC) has decided to suspend party membership of three MPs who voted in favor of the Appropriation Bill 2022 during the Second Reading vote.

The MPs are Ishaq Rahuman, Ali Sabry Raheem and S. M. M. Muszhaaraff. These MPs voted in favor of the 20th Amendment to the Constitution despite the common agreement of the party not to vote for the amendment.

Also, disciplinary actions will be taken against them.

ACMC Leader Rishad Bathiudeen voted against the Bill in the Second Reading vote.

On 21 November the ACMC decided to vote against the Appropriation Bill 2022 in its Second Reading vote. The decision had been communicated to all the MPs in writing and through emails.


Chinese traveler from Colombo found infected with COVID-19 on arrival at Shanghai

A Chinese national who arrived from Sri Lanka has been infected with COVID-19, Shanghai (China) Health Commission said on Thursday morning.  According to Chinese media,...

Another 160 Omicron cases detected in Sri Lanka

Another 160 cases of Omicron COVID variant have been recorded in Sri Lanka, Dr. Chandima Jeewandara from University of Sri Jayewardenepura said. According to Dr....

PM visits Tirupati

Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa has left for India on a 2-day pilgrimage to the temple city of Tirupati today (23). He was accorded a warm...


Breaking: Petition Sought Delay of Presidential Poll Dismissed by SC

The petition filed by a lawyer Aruna Laksiri was dismissed by Supreme Court, a short while ago. The petition sought to withold the Presidential Election...

Minor 2 Tremor Reported in Anuradhapura and Kantale

A minor tremor with a magnitude of 2.7 on the Richter scale was reported this evening between Anuradhapura and Kantale, according to the Geological...

PUCSL Approves 22.5% Reduction in Electricity Tariffs Starting Tomorrow

The Public Utilities Commission of Sri Lanka (PUCSL) has announced a significant reduction in electricity tariffs, effective from tomorrow. The overall reduction is 22.5%, bringing...